10 Days, 10 Apps: Day One (The App, Not The Day!)

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
?
Day 5
?
Day 6
?
Day 7
?
Day 8
?
Day 9
?
Day 10
?

Over the course of 10 days, I’m going to share 10 apps that I use every day on my Mac that make the experience more enjoyable or more productive. I get asked this question regularly, so I thought I’d write a series of short blog posts.

Today I would like to introduce you to Day One by Bloom Built. This fantastic program is the best journaling solution I’ve found for the Mac and is bolstered by iCloud or Dropbox syncing and an iOS counterpart. Featuring an intuitive interface and elegant design, Day One offers a comprehensive journaling solution, despite a few drawbacks.

Write a Journal Entry

Pen and paper simply doesn’t work for me…I lose them, forget it, ruin it, can’t find something to write with…you name it. Other journaling applications for the computer always present me with a big blank page to journal on, this makes me freeze up, feeling guilty if I don’t have more than one or two sentences to write.

Day One solves all these problems. Writing an entry, perhaps the most important aspect of journaling program, is done one of two ways, either through the main program, pictured above, or a small window activated from an icon in the menu bar at the top of your screen. Day One does a fantastic job at encouraging you to write by presenting a clean writing environment that doesn’t overwhelm. If I don’t have a lot of time, I can easily fill up the small drop-down box from the menu bar with a just a couple sentences and feel like I’ve actually journaled a bit.

The app is structured so that it can elegantly handle multiple entries per day, handy if you want to be a little bit more of a stream-of-concience journaler. Day One scales quite well for either style, whether you want to write a massive essay once a week or 15 micro-journals a day. It’s always quick to find what you want and your entries are always displayed clearly.

Reminders in Action

One of my favorite features of Day One is the ability to set reminders. These will pop open the quick-entry box from the menu bar at different times of the day; you can configure how often you’d like them and between what hours. It does a great job at reminding you to write, and by utilizing the pop-up box, it’s almost as if Day One would be just as content with 2 setences as opposed to a large entry. By using a smart design coupled with the ability to remind you to enter something, Day One removes any guilt you may feel about not writing enough and won’t let you forget your journal exists.

There are only two main setbacks I see with this app right now:

  1. No support for images
  2. No support for tags

Both would be nice to have; especially tags, since they’re an effective way to categorize the thoughts and events in your life. Both are planned to be in a future update, though, so I wouldn’t say that you shouldn’t give it a try just because of those two things.

I’ve been trying it out for a while now and, well, it works. I’ve always wanted to, but now I find that I’m actually journalling almost every day. And that’s perhaps the greatest endorsement I can give it.

Day One is available on the Mac App Store for $9.99.

