Where Are You Going?

Donald Miller wrote a blog post recently about why Joseph didn’t sleep with Potiphar’s wife.  They key, he argues, is this:

First, Joseph knew what was his and what wasn’t, and Potiphar’s wife was not his, and Joseph had a great deal of respect for Potiphar, but second, and second is important, Joseph knew his own destiny. He’d been told in a dream he would become a powerful man. And that was beginning to happen in Joseph’s life. Joseph ran all of Potiphar’s affairs. He may not have known it then, but he was in training to run all of Egypt.

One of the most important elements of story has to do with what the main character wants. Does he want the girl? Does the football team want to win the state championship? If we don’t know what the main character wants, the story is boring and dull and it’s torture to sit through. The same is true for a human life. If we don’t know what we want, or where we are going, the story is boring. And worse, the protagonist makes terrible decisions.

I agree.  I think you need to know where you’re going to be able to know what fits in your life.  If you don’t know where you’re headed, how are you supposed to know what to take along?

The past two years have been a constant re-analysis of what fits in my life and what doesn’t, and while it’s hard work and painful at times, it’s a refining of character and purpose that is part of living up to our higher calling.

I like who I am more now than I did two years ago.  I am who I am more than I was two years ago.  And I hope to continue the trend; growing more into me, maturing and refining my character, and liking my life, my relationships, and myself more and more.

Where are you heading?  Who and what are you taking with you?  Feel free to leave a comment.

