A Tiny Part of Loving Like Jesus

Lately I’ve been thinking about Jesus a lot.  Who he was and all that.  And know what I’ve decided?

It is really hard to understand and comprehend Jesus as a human being.  I mean, this is God; Jesus was perfect.  But so completely significantly, Jesus was also human.  What does it mean to be human?  What does or doesn’t God do when He takes on the flesh?

I’ve been trying to look at it through a particular filter: love.  I strongly believe that it’s the whole point; we are designed to love our Creator and to love those around us, including those on the fringes of society.  Love.  Sounds very easy.  And if there’s anything I do know, it’s that Jesus loved mankind more than we’ll ever understand.

But what did that look like?  What was it like to be walking around with this electric new Jew who was proclaiming all sorts of things about God that really were rubbing some of the established religious leaders the wrong way?  How did Jesus react when the Disciples just couldn’t quite grasp what it was that he was teaching and it’s huge implications?

We see it in a few places in the New Testament: Jesus can get frustrated.  And I can’t help but feel that there were times that he was incredibly frustrated with his Disciples.  They were trying hard and doing all they could, but sometimes they just didn’t get it.  Jesus’ frustration wouldn’t have been born out of resentment, superiority, or any sort of self-centeredness.  No, He would get frustrated because he loved these people so much,  and he wanted more than anything for them to grasp what it was that he was teaching.

So he kept trying; he kept telling them parables and kept revealing to them in new ways the Good News.

So where does this all fit in with me?  I’m getting married soon, which is a pretty big change in life.  I’ve been told by many people that some days when you wake up you just have to choose that in the marriage is where you want to be.  I hope to be able to do my best to love my wife like Jesus.  Ultimately, if you wake up in the morning and you decide to stick with someone out of love, despite any frustrations you may have or issues that are straining the relationship, I don’t think that’s a weakness or a sign of a problem.  I think that choosing to stick with someone because you love this person so dearly, choosing to stick with someone because you made a promise to love them and be with them until the day you die, choosing to be there and work through tough problems and challenges in the relationship no matter how difficult it can be at times … I think that is one of the ways in which you can love someone exactly how Jesus would.

