Coldplay

This is a little late, but I want to say something about it!

A couple weeks ago I put some of my night-shift differential pay to use and took Trish on a date to go see Coldplay while they were here in town.

Wow.

What a fantastic concert it was.  Three bands in total played over 4 hours of music.  The openers were some band from Australia, which to be honest, I didn’t think were very good.  The lead singer had little range on her songs, they all sounded a bit too much the same, and they picked the absolute worst cacophony of noise to end their set on.  I wasn’t really too enthralled by them.

Snow Patrol was the opener for Coldplay.  They did a pretty solid set.  They played quite a few of their “big” songs and they were performed well and had the attention of the crowd of around 15,000 people.  But really, could either of the openers even compare to Coldplay?

No.

Coldplay took the the stage shortly after 9 and had the energy and showmanship to have the entire crowd rivited to them for over two hours.  Opening with the bombastic Viva La Vida and quickly moving through many favorites such as Clocks, Yellow, and Fix You, they won everybody over very quickly and continued to perform one of the best shows I’ve ever seen.  Chris Martin showed his talent as a musician moving from huge band pieces to intimate solo piano pieces with ease, and throughout the concert he had a stage presence that was simply undeniable.

Half-way through the concert they moved from the main stage to a small stage set up in the seats at the back of the arena and then performed an acoustic set for about 30 minutes including songs about the people in the back and one they wrote about Winnipeg.  It was a lot of fun and a great way to mix up the concert.  After they went back to the main stage and moved back to the big show.

They must have heard that Winnipegers are cheap, because they offered fans a lot of music and performance for their money.  It was a great concert, and not one I’m likely to forget in a long time.  Great musicians, great music, great performances, and a great show.

Not to mention the great company that I got to see it with!

On either side of me were two drastically different methods of enjoying a concert.  On my right: Trish.  Now Trish is a musician, and like me, the less it appears that she’s enjoying the music, often it means that she’s more engaged and enjoying it more.  That’s kind of like me; I listen to every detail of really good music and get lost in it.  Good music, in itself, engages me.  To my left was a frat boy who, while friendly and not really a big deal, was of the “Coldplay’s a great excuse to have 7 beers,” kind of enjoyment of music.  I don’t condemn his actions (although I was glad he stopped with the beers when he did); the enjoyment of good music to him was something that makes you get up, shout, cheer, and sing along at the top of your lungs and celebrate.  I’m definitely okay with that.  I, however, am more disposed to getting lost in the sound, picking through every instrument, every arpeggio, every intentional little detail.  It feels like enjoying music that way is definitley in the minority: I’ll think stick on being able to share in that with the girl on my right.

