rainy days means time to post

Well, it’s a grey rainy day today.  Which is a nice break from the grey, hot and humid day yesterday.  But that also means I have time to post.  This will probably be a little bit longer since I’ve been up to a lot over the past bit.

Work lately has been really good.  I find I go through these…waves of caring.  I’ll really be passionate about the weather, go to work, and give it 110%.  I’ll do way more analyses than I need to do, and really just be keen abou the whole process.  After a couple weeks, I slide back to just doing my upper air analyses and comparing it to the model.  Which is not good.  If that’s all I do, a computer could have my job fairly quickly.  Why I go back and forth through these two states, I have no idea.  I know that when I do all the work I can, I enjoy the job more, forecasting is a lot easier, the shift goes faster, and it definitely reflects better to upper management when they come in and see a ridiculous amount of analysis done.  I’m working on taking the hard work attitude to work more often, but it’s definitely a challenge some days.

On that note, on Monday morning at 6AM, it was 4° in Edmonton and 22° here.  Suckers.

The apartment is still going well.  I still love my view and admire it almost every day.  There’s something je ne sais quoi about the inherent beauty of the flatness and big sky here.  Whatever it is, I feel it every day.  In other apartment news, my leaky dishwasher is fixed.  They just put a brand new one in.  And it is awesome.  I love having a dishwasher again 🙂

Music continues to grow into more of my life.  More and more of what I see and what I hear around me inspires some sort of music.  It’s frustrating at times, because my ambition far exceeds my actual skill.  I can think of several times in the past little while where I had to put my guitar down and walk away for a while because I just couldn’t make my fingers make it replicate what I heard in my head.  It’s one of the most frustrating feelings I’ve had, like there’s something wonderful caged away that I just can’t let out.  But, I’ve been playing a lot and I continue to get better.  Someday I’ll be able to free what’s stuck in my head.

In that vein, I’ve recently met someone who I’d say is probably as passionate, if not moreso, about music as I am.  And she happens to have a beautiful voice which we’ll put to good use in the first of many (I hope) songs we pen together.  I am not good at lyrics, but I find it interesting how somehow she can hear the same thing that I’m feeling when I create a song.  She can put it into words, which is very helpful.  That’s a new little project in life that I’m excited about.

In the next little while, I hope to be a little happier with how things are going.  I’m falling into a fairly regular work schedule, and with school firing up for a lot of people, schedules will become a litltle more regular.  This should let me get out and see people with a little more regularity and organization, which will be very, very good for me.  I also find myself more and more drawn to the community at St. Benedict’s Table, and hope to join them from time to time in exploring our faith and the world at large.

That’s about it for now.  In a little bit I plan on making some hot chocolate and curling up on the couch with a good book and reading as the storms pass through outside.  If I’m really lucky, we’ll get a good one and I’ll be able to do a little lightning photography; something that’s been horribly lacking in this city throughout the summer.

In parting, I’d like to share a revelation I’ve had as of late.  It’s a revelation in the sense that I’ve heard it before many many times, but it’s only lately I’ve been able to internalize it.  Life is what you make it. You can be happy, sad, angry, indifferent, detached, or whatever with respect to anything in life.  When I first found out I was moving to Winnipeg, I was really dejected.  I did not look forward to leaving my friends, family, and familiarity behind.  When I came here, I realized that I could be in Winnipeg for a while, and that it was something I had to face.  I couldn’t avoid the fact I wouldn’t be living at home.  So I struggled for a little bit.  I didn’t really know what to do.  But I decided that I should “make the best” of the situation.  I wanted to be happy.  So I opened myself up to opportunites that, had I not been dedicated at working towards being happy, I would not have batted an eye at.  I find myself now in a place I enjoy.  I am happy.  I’ve had blessings and opportunites arise that I could never have expected open up for me, and I am so thankful for it.  If you want to be happy, be happy.  Find things to be thankful for, no matter how big.  I guarentee you that life is a lot more enjoyable if it’s lived being happy.  It may be work, but don’t be afraid to go out there and make your life what you want it to be.

