Goin’ To Winnipeg

That’s right.  Off to lovely Winnipeg.  I thought I’d start this off by listing some fun facts about this forgotten prarie town you may not have known:

  • Winnipeg is near the geographic center of North America
  • Lake Winnipeg is the world’s eleventh largest lake.
  • Winnipeg is home to the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives
  • Winnipeg has an extreme humid contiental climate, with an annual average temperature range of -14°C to 26°C
  • Winnipeg reaches temperatures over 30°C more than other Canadian cities.
  • Winnipeg is the sunshine capital of Canada, with over 2300 hours of sun per year.
  • Winnipeg is the coldest city in the world with a population over 600,000 people.
  • Winnipeg has no freeways within the urban area.
  • In 2003 and 2004, Winnipeg was ranked one of the top 10 cities for business in Canada.
  • The Royal Canadian Mint is located in Winnipeg; all circulating coinage in Canada is produced here.
  • The Winnipeg Frince Theatre Frestival is North America’s second largest Fringe Festival.
  • Winnipeg has a thriving film industry, with movies such as Shall We Dance (2004), Capote (2005), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2006), and The Horsemen (2007) being filmed partly in Winnipeg.
  • "One Great City!" by The Weakerthans is about Winnipeg.
  • In The Simpsons, Homer goes to Winnipeg to import prescription drugs.
  • Winnipeg is home to Canada’s oldest, and the longest continually operating in North America, ballet.

When I first found out I was being posted to Winnipeg, I was a little disheartened.  I was hoping that I could stay here in Edmonton.  However, as I thought about it more and more, I’ve become more accepting of the concept.  This is the first time I’ve been forced to step outside my comfort zone, and as such I naturally have felt resistance to the concept.

I’m beginning to look forward to it now, though.  I’ve lived here in Edmonton my whole life and haven’t had too much exposure to places that aren’t here.  I’ve talked to a lot of people who know people who live in Winnipeg or have lived in Winnipeg themselves, and they all seem to love it.  Other than the fact I know nobody there, it sounds like a pretty cool place, actually.  Which brings me to my next point.

I’m really going to miss the community I have here.  I’ve built up a fantastic group of people around me who help me, support me, guide me, hold me responsible for my actions, and more or less help me be the person I want to be.  All while having tons of fun, of course.  This is the #1 thing I will miss when I move away. 

This move lets me speed up several things I’ve been wanting to do for a while.  First up on the list is get a new car.  I’m heading down to the Mazda dealership tomorrow to see if I can hammer out a good deal on a 2008 Mazda3, something I’m very, very much looking forward to.  I also get to find a new place, and have an excuse to buy the few more household things that I’ve been missing.

I leave in 6 weeks.  It’s going to be a very, very hectic few weeks.  I’m hoping that I can see as many of my friends as possible before I go, as often as possible, and you all can be sure that I’ll use this page as a place of regular updates of how things are going.

So thanks Edmonton, you’ve been a good place to grow up.  Hello Winterpeg!

One thought on “Goin’ To Winnipeg

  1. That’s a great spam post someone’s hit you with there, Brad.
    Note the compliment – to make you feel good and cozy. It’s based on a relevant keyword. And the final touch is that it avoids sounding needy or spam-like.

    In fact, it’s so good that now I’m starting to second-guess, and I’m wondering if I’m maligning some poor lawyer named Bill who lives in Winnipeg. (I haven’t followed the link – why would I?)

    Nahh. It’s spam – but I’m just impressed how good it is.

Leave a Reply

