Am I A Workaholic?

Today is an absolutely gorgeous Saturday afternoon.  And guess what, I have absolutely nothing that I have to do today.  I am completely free.

Why then do I have trouble enjoying it?  I feel like after 4 years of university, having a job non-stop pretty much since I was 16, and going straight into my potential career after University has made me a bit of a workaholic.  I’m so…used to working that it’s hard for me to accept that there are times when I simply don’t have to do anything.

I went for a walk this afternoon and cleaned up the kitchen a bit, and now I’m sitting here watching Saturday afternoon television and sipping on a gingerbread latte I made for myself.  I feel a little bit better, but I still have this crazy desire to do something…to be productive.  I don’t think that it’s necessarally healthy to be productive all the time.  Maybe I have to re-learn how to do nothing.  I miss that freedom.

For anybody who’s reading this, do you find that drive to always be productive?  Do you think it’s healthy?  How do you cope with it?

3 thoughts on “Am I A Workaholic?

  1. I definitely feel that way, Brad, and to be perfectly honest… I’ll spend a day doing absolutely nothing, be it spending all day in bed with that special someone, or just constantly gaming. Unfortunately near the end of the day I feel incredibly guilty because it’s like I wasted my time when I could have been productive. But I’ve somehow learned to just do nothing and feel guilty about it later… and then somehow not let the guilt overtake me. I think practice makes perfect 😉

  2. Scott Peacock

    I’d say it just sounds like you were bored 😉

    Personally, I’m completely capable of wasting vast expanses of time, but I always require some sort of occupying activity (not necessarily mentally engaging – usually it isn’t). My down time generally involves light work.

    The kind of light activity (cleaning / walking / etc) you describe works well for me when I have time to kill. For me, it doesn’t have to be productive, but it has to be something to keep me busy and occupied.

    I can never do *nothing* because as soon as I try, I start to think, and as soon as I start thinking I inevitably hit upon something I should do. Not very relaxing.

    But if my hands are occupied, my brain is free to wander and think about idle stuff, which *is* relaxing.

Leave a Reply

